Review: RCI Allure of the Seas

Royal Caribbean’s Allure of the Seas was the third cruise ship I ventured on. I took this trip a year after sailing on the Oasis and I can absolutely, positively assure you that the Oasis and the Allure are basically identical. I guess they don’t call them sister ships for nothing! I guess you could say there is one major difference… the Allure of the Seas is an entire 2 inches larger than the Oasis of the seas. That’s right people – TWO WHOLE INCHES!

DSC_0070.JPG

There are a few other differences between the two ships. One difference is the itinerary. When I sailed on the Oasis the ports of call were Nassau, Bahamas, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, and Philipsburg, St. Maarten. The ports of call for the Allure were Labadee, Haiti, Falmouth, Jamaica, and Cozumel, Mexico. So basically the Oasis has ports of call in the Eastern Caribbean and the Allure has ports of call in the Western Caribbean. They both sailed out of Fort Lauderdale (the only pier in Florida large enough to accommodate their docking). Another thing to note is that Oasis sails on Saturday and Allure sails on Sunday. These differences can be important when it comes to planning out a vacation. For 7 night cruises, I like to sail Saturday-Saturday because then at least I have Sunday to attempt getting myself out of a state of cruise withdrawal in time to start a new school/work week (and maybe unpack, do laundry, restock the house with groceries, and all the other things I didn’t have to worry about on the ship).

IMG_9478.jpg

IMG_8099.jpg

Everything I loved about the Oasis was exactly everything I loved about the Allure. The aqua theater, the boardwalk, and the Royal Promenade were exactly the same – right down to the flooring. Although I did notice that the car in the Royal Promenade is a different one on each ship.

DSC_0106.JPG

The food venues differed a tiny bit on each ship as well. They share many of the same restaurants, but Allure has Rita’s Cantina and Samba Grill while Oasis has the seafood shack and Solarium Bistro.

IMG_8111.JPG

The last difference (at least that I can remember) is the show offerings in the aqua theater, the main theater, and the ice skating rink. All fabulous shows on both ships.

IMG_8160.JPG

Would I sail on the Allure again? YES! I did much more on this cruise than I did on the Oasis as this was my third cruise and I was basically a pro at making sure that I took advantage of every opportunity and enjoyed it to the fullest. I’ve crossed the Allure of my list of RCI cruises to go on and I would jump at the opportunity to do it again.

Happy Sailing!
Samantha

 

 

Leave a Reply

